Reinstalling an Operating System on an external USB storage device erases all data previously existing on it (SERIOUSLY)

OH MY GODS.

JUST. JUST WOW.

Okay, so to be honest, I’m not 100% sober right now. I’ve had a few drinks since I got home from work today (my normal time, for fucking once), and one more shot at dinner, but I started computer work on my old Surface AND Toshiba first (for the record, my Toshiba laptop is a Satellite brand, inherited from my dad. Not exactly “recently”) yesterday, very shortly after I discovered that my old Surface screen was “more than just a little messed up”. I pulled out the Toshiba I hadn’t turned on in about a year, and tried to update it with the very latest drivers.

I turned it off before I went to bed.

I woke up before work and started an updating process.

…It remained the same goddamn screen I left it at when I returned home from work 7 1/2 hours.

Tried to find a solution. Found one. Downloaded a media copy of Windows 10 onto an external hard drive I kept important files on.

IT ERASED ALL MY FILES.

I didn’t know it would happen, nor did ANY of the sites I visited STATE it would happen.

THERE WAS A LOT OF KEEPERS OF BALANCE WORK ON THERE.

AS WELL AS MUSIC.

AND IMPORTANT PERSONAL DOCUMENTS.

Thankfully, because I’ve been working off the Surface this entire time, a lot of files that were on the 1TB external drive were on the micro SD card in my Surface. The things that weren’t saved are personal documents (that I have in paper anyways), and maybe some music that my dad gave me.

…speaking of which, I have him to thank for getting me a new Surface Pro 3 so soon (I guess the screen was too messed up to salvage). After taking me and his girlfriend out to dinner, I was able to return to the tasks at hand with a semi-fresh mind.

…even while traumatized that so much data was lost.

But nevertheless, the status: my new Surface is up and running…though, I think the internal fan might be a bit wonky for this machine. But still, far better than nothing. However, my Toshiba…I decided to just do a total factory restore. It’s taking a long time, and dad admitted that it might not be able to run Windows 10…but I need a powerhouse to run my editing studios, and to back up KoB data and other project data onto the harddrive I had for it. Thanks to my brother, though, I might be able to recover some data that was on the external.

This…has been a stressful day. I’ve been frustrated, angry, impatient, and borderline bitchy the entire day. My mood started to lighten when I got off work and restarted my work on the computers…but now, I just remain tired, exhausted, and unsure. I…I’m missing some software from my Surface that I’ll have to pay for, again…but both of my credit cards are maxed out, and I haven’t taken out a loan yet to help pay for those…I…I have to keep moving forward. This is my dream…I have to keep doing this.

Arrivederci~

Author: CasSilber

Aspiring blogger, who also dreams of writing/illustrating/composing music for/publishing her own books (mainly light novels). Don't be afraid to chat--I don't bite!

Leave a Reply

