Inspiration Manifestation #1

Happy Moonday, everyone! It feels good to be back on my Mon-Wed-Fri posting schedule. I’ve been looking forward to this all day. Work was a little slow, which was a mixed bag of sorts: prep work got done, and it wasn’t so stressful…but the day seemed to drag on and on. Though, I do feel the need to mention now: we really need a “No Dogs Allowed” sign on our door.

“But Cassandra, you work at a bagel deli, right?”

Well, ja, I do. However, because we don’t have a sign about forbidding any dogs (other than service dogs, of course), we keep getting people who brings dogs into the building. Believe or not, we served him…only because we didn’t have a sign that forbade dogs into the facility. We could get into so much trouble for that. I’m not losing my job because some asswipe decided it was okay to bring animals into a restaurant.

Anyways, enough griping. I’m gonna go ahead and list what series helped me inspire Keepers of Balance and how. Only a few will be shown today–some more will be revealed on Wednesday.

(I would strongly advise anyone to check these series/games/books/etc out. They are amazing pieces of work, and deserve their own recognition all the same)

  • Kingdom Hearts Series (all the games, pretty much): Kingdom Hearts. I’m a huge fan of the series. So much so, that I’ve been in near physical pain waiting for Kingdom Hearts III to come out (and I’ve already waited nearly ten years for the Final Mix versions to hit the U.S.). Like how people have their comfort food, I have my comfort game(s), and Kingdom Hearts II and Kingdom Hearts: Birth by Sleep is a couple of them. Let me start off with the music. It’s composed by Yoko Shimoura, and she is excellent at crafting battle music. However, I love the entire soundtrack. Hell, when I found the complete soundtrack on Amazon, it cost $80. Something I’d usually wait for…but when I saw there was only one copy left, I had to. Not only was it the complete soundtrack (Kingdom Hearts 1.5 ReMix-Kingdom Hearts 2.5 ReMix), but there was only one left. I jumped on it as soon as I could, and I’m glad I did. So much music has helped me set the scene for battles, and other scenes in Keepers of Balance. I love playing the music of my flue (Lazy Afternoons being my favorite), and I love how intense and relaxing it can be. The art style is also something I admire, as Kingdom Hearts art was some of the first art I drew. I love Namoura’s (the creator of Kingdom Hearts) drawing style, and have always wondered what would KoB looked like in that style. The magic (as well as the magical weapons) in Kingdom Hearts inspired KoB in a way. Especially the concept of Light and Darkness, and how Darkness was deemed by most, inherently evil. I wanted to show that Light and Darkness comes from the same place…and how both can be used for good and bad intent…the question is…how far will you go? The story of KoB also had some roots in Kingdom Hearts as well. Three friends, going all over the place, helping people out and trying to save the world/universe/realms along the way. And these friends are different in many ways, in both series. Speaking of friends, the character interactions in the series helped me inspire the character interactions in KoB, in a way.
  • Doctor Who: I’ll be honest: I’m not a fan of sci-fi. Doctor Who is one of those exceptions. In fact, the whole “people traveling all over the place to strop a threat” mostly came from Doctor Who. Matt Smith is my favorite Doctor, btw.
  • Leverage: A show I remember from my youth. It’s on Netflix and Hulu, so there’s no reason to not check it out. I always loved how the entire group interacted with each other (I think Oracle is Hardison, in this case), and how well they could work–and against–each other. Also, it inspired more than a few moments in KoB that required the Keepers sneaking into an area that was off-limits.
  • Naruto: I’ll be honest…I dislike the series (both Naruto and Naruto: Shippuden). (Most) of the characters are boring and annoying, and I was never sold into the world…except for one aspect: the chakras. Ninja powers, to simplify it. There were different elements of chakra you could have–for example, the titular character himself has wind chakra–the annoying emo asshole had lightning chakra. The way these attacks were executed and how they looked served as an important factor, too. I’ll watch the series with my husband…but I’ll only be willing to dive in completely if the video game was present (which inspired many of the battle movements for KoB), and even then it would be grudgingly. *sigh* I’ve always hated the series, ever since it first came out…but I can say I hate it less, now that I have a few characters to like, and I enjoy the games a whole lot more….despite my dislike for the series as a whole being an everlasting thing, in my life.

I have, so far, twelve inspiration sources for KoB. This means four sources a day for the rest of the week. Again, feel free to check these all out, regardless of my silly opinion. On Wednesday, I’ll have four more for you all–meaning four more spaces to crawl into my creative mind.

Speaking of Wednesday, I plan on taking a nap very soon after my husband and I get home for worm becauussseee….I plan on pulling an all-nighter that night. Ep#10 is almost finished, so if I work on it steadily for the next day or so, then I should be able to get it done Wednesday night/Thursday morning. I miss pulling all-nighters. I feel more like myself when I stay up at night, and I feel more productive…more creative. So this Wednesday is my late-night session.

Anyways, until Wednesday, have a beautiful Moonday!

Arrivederci~

Author: CasSilber

Aspiring blogger, who also dreams of writing/illustrating/composing music for/publishing her own books (mainly light novels). Don't be afraid to chat--I don't bite!

Leave a Reply

