Inspiration Manifestation #3

Happy Friday, everyone. It’s been a lovely weekend, and as usual, I’m kinda disappointed to return to work tomorrow…but hey, with Episode #10 completed, I still feel pretty satisfied. Here’s the last set of inspirations today, so let’s jump into that.

  • RWBY: On YouTube, there’s a channel called RoosterTeeth. On that channel was a man named Monty, who one night had a dream about four colors: Red, White, Black, and Yellow, and how they were little girls fighting off monsters. Add some inspirations from fairy tales, and you have an amazing show, all made with a program called Poser by Smith Micro (the company that makes Manga Studio and Clip Studio Paint. It has great characters, exciting lore, intimidating creatures, and excellent music. It’s fourth volume premieres tomorrow, and I am super hyped for the new volume! However, during RWBY’s production, there was a tradegy…Monty died before he got to see the true impact his creation made. I’m glad to see the series is still continuing, but it serves as a somber reminder that…well, maybe some of us won’t be lucky enough to survive long enough to see their creations fill their true potentional…something that, I confess, is my greatest fear in life: that I die before Keepers of Balance truly becomes the story its meant to be. Rest in peace, Monty.
  • My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic: A strange place for inspiration, I’ll tell you, but the show has a special meaning from it, despite it becoming quite different from the show I remember. Here’s the story: I wasn’t really willing to jump on the MLP:FiM bandwagon for a long time. I finally caved during my senior year of high school, where my spring break (and the week after that) was spent by me being really sick. My only comfort? This show. I took a surprising liking to the characters, and I was thrilled to see that it wasn’t like the show from way back when. Strong female leads are always great to see, and here, we got six of them! The interaction between them (and later others) served as some great avenues to gain inspiration from. The lore itself is kinda of interesting, too–especially the whole “student-betraying-teacher” kinda deal.
  • Avatar: The Last Airbender: Another show I wasn’t hooked on when it first came out. However, once I caught the reruns, I saw how amazing it was. The art was incredible, the music was spectacular, and the characters were rich and deep. The lore and magic of the series was amazing, too: and that’s the show I go to when I need help drawing elemental magic. The fighting is smooth, yet quick. Also pretty easy to follow. And, again, a group of people traveling to save the world is what draws me into a story the most.
  • Avatar: The Legend of Korra: A sequel series to The Last Airbender yet almost just as beautiful and amazing. I’ll have to be honest…I don’t like it as much as its predecessor, but I still think it’s a great show. I still found great inspiration from it, and some of the elements in KoB kinda came from that, too.

One of the things I struggle with most while being a creator are frequent blocks. Art Block, Writer’s Block…these things are things I struggle through a lot. Because of this, whenever I watch something–on tv, YouTube, Hulu, Netflix, etc–I’m always observing, always thinking: how can I continue onwards from here? How can I break through this Block?

I’ll do a separate post on Creative Blocks at another time, but I’m glad I live in a world and time that has all of these great shows/movies/video games to help me carve out a story…and maybe, just maybe, my works can stand next to all of these great titles and other like them…and stand the test of time. And with that…goodnight, everybody.

Arrivederci!

Author: CasSilber

Aspiring blogger, who also dreams of writing/illustrating/composing music for/publishing her own books (mainly light novels). Don't be afraid to chat--I don't bite!

Leave a Reply

