Super Moonday

Hey all. I’m not sure how many of you saw the moon last night, but it was HUGE. I had to go into work early this morning. Downside: less sleep. Upside: I got to watch the moon fall from the window. It was quite gorgeous. Which kinda brings me to today’s subject (seeing as how I don’t have anything else prepared for today’s post), one kinda close and personal to me: why I love the nighttime, and the importance the moon (and the phases of the moon) have in Keepers of Balance.

For those of you who know who I am, and have seen me at my day job, you may have seen me in the mornings and have asked me one thing: “Why aren’t you a morning person?” (or something similar). I’m going to tell you why right here. And right now. So everybody can stop asking, now.

The nighttime was the one time where I truly felt alive. Isolation. Solitude. The freedom to either be quiet and think, reflect…or the freedom to have fun, be who I really am…away from the prying, judging eyes from others. During middle school and high school, I got used to staying up late because…well…in between school, dealing with the divorce of my parents, and trying to find a safe place elsewhere, because it was the only free time I had. By the time I had graduated high school, I was used to staying up until two or three in the morning, having to get up a mere few hours later. I can’t do that these days–my day job is waay to stressful and energy-taxing, that I need all the rest I can get. But I got used to staying up late, watching YouTube, drawing, writing, creating music…letting myself be inspired by everything I took in. That’s why I stay up all night at times–not only to work on KoB and other projects, but to capture the maximum amount of inspiration I can gather.

I also grew a love for stargazing during this time, and watched the moon’s phases closely. The phases of the moon does impact the world of KoB in not just how the tides rise and fall…but also how it impacts metaphysics.

I’m sure all of you are familiar with the cliché that some people act strangely underneath the full moon…or, for those with narrower mindsets, that the full moon brings evil. However, I’m here to tell you that that is not the case. The Full and New Moons both offer different aspects of power, and everybody works underneath different conditions. In KoB, the spring equinox is called Ostara, and the week leading up to it is called the Ostara Cycle. Not all Ostaras have a New Moon. Ostara–spring–is a time of change and renewal. Strengthening and cleansing spells and what not, for Pagans, typically works better underneath the New Moon–a moon representing change and growth.

Anyways, I gotta get ready…speaking of Pagan, I’m going to some sort of Pagan church tonight for a full moon ritual…not exactly comfortable with it, but whatever. I don’t think I’ll be able to do what I wanted to do this week, but I might find time to clear off a space somehow. I’m just missing the strong backlights I need for the reference photos, as well as a white cloth to place the stone on.

Arrivederci~

Author: CasSilber

Aspiring blogger, who also dreams of writing/illustrating/composing music for/publishing her own books (mainly light novels). Don't be afraid to chat--I don't bite!

Leave a Reply

