More Progress (I really suck at naming these posts…)

Happy Moonday, everyone. Just finished with the flat colors for Ep#5’s Bonus Illustration. Might not start on the shading/lighting tonight, but at least I’m about 2/3’s of the way done:

screenshot-22

I need to brush up on my digital coloring skills, but I think I got the job done okay. The most annoying part was the “dream bubble”. Stupid fill bucket.

Also, as an artist, I must rant about one of my LEAST favorite things to color: I fucking hate coloring stones and metals. Especially stones. The base color usually takes me a long time to figure out, and if I’m coloring a stone such as white opal, which has all sorts of flecks of colors inside it, the it usually takes me a while longer to get the details down. Then there’s the shine and shadows, figuring out layer effects and layer opacities and–ugh! It’s just a really grating process. What sucks about this is that I kinda have to figure it out all over again. Yeaaahhh, I completed a reference illustration for the Keeper Necklaces last year, but the file got corrupted and I couldn’t recover it. Three days of work, trial and error, and research all down the shitter. Actually, that’s my next art project. Either that, or Episode #1’s cover art. I need to try to start working on episode covers soon, too.

screenshot-23
Above is a reference sheet I threw together for the white opal and blue quartz Rachael’s necklace has. The tumbled white opal was what I used for a base–the super-polished opal is for the flecks of colors and a reference for how to blend them. I managed to dig up a couple of good images of blue quartz as well. I know I said in the past that I wanted to photograph my own reference images, however, white opal and blue quartz are the stones I actually don’t have physical access to, so until then, I’m forced to pull up Bing (and online stores that sell these gems/stones) and pull the images from there. Plus, with everything to disorganized at home right now, I don’t really have the space/lighting to take my own images.

Anyways, I’ll probably splice some layers together and get ready to do the shading/lighting effects. The line work is far from perfect, but I’m still really fond of it. The thing I’m kinda dreading on working on right now are the Keeper Necklaces. I can’t even find the original concept art page I had for them…and all paper copies of KoB concept art I keep in a large binder in clear plastic sleeves. I even have some art from nearly five years ago. Hopefully it’s just holed up in one of my sketchbooks.

(Also, poking fun at myself here), I hope you guys like the color blue, because I’ve come to notice that a lot of my illustrations have a lot of blue in them. Different shades, usually, but still a lot. I’ll have to come up with a challenge in the next six months or so to help me practice with that.)

I think I’ll alternate between editing Episode #6 and artwork for now. Trying not to burn myself out too much…I try not to let it show, but the cluster-fuck of stress, moving, work, and holidays is starting to get to me on a physical level. Let’s just say that last night, I woke up (around 2-3am) in a cold sweat and wanting to throw up. I made myself stay in bed, and the feeling went away after a while…but it made me doubly exhausted. I tried to sleep in late, but (and I shit you all not), after I laid back down after my 5am alarm, my cat (Annabelle) came up to me and started pawing me. At first, I thought he was trying to get comfortable and lay next to me, but when he wouldn’t stop after a while, I figured he was trying to get me up. Mostly because he wanted food. By Goddess, cats are annoying in the mornings.

Anyways, I realize you all probably have other things to do, so I’m gonna end it here. Gute Nacht, everyone. And bundle up, because baby, it’s cold outside~

~Arrivederci!~

 

Author: CasSilber

Aspiring blogger, who also dreams of writing/illustrating/composing music for/publishing her own books (mainly light novels). Don't be afraid to chat--I don't bite!

Leave a Reply

