First Post of 2017

Good evening, everyone! As the title states, this is the first post of 2017. I’m taking a break from packing so I can write this.

Anyways, I would like to announce my plans for myself for the next couple of weeks.

The first goal is moving. Sadly, we are nowhere near done packing, and it’s getting down to the wire. We also have to clean, too, since it would be rude to leave the house messy when we leave. After packing/moving/unpacking, I plan on resuming heavy work on Keepers of Balance at full force. Sadly, there will be no all-nighter this week (at least, I’m 98% positive there won’t be), but I’ll make up for it next week. I aim to have the first book of Arc 1 published this March, but if I have to push the deadline back to April, then I can and will. Which brings me to some good news…as well as my personal challenge for the year.

This morning, I entered a contest that, if I win first prize, I will receive a custom book cover (for both print and web) valuing at around $500. This will not only help me with Book 1’s cover, but will give me a solid idea for what to do for the next four books, cover-wise. There are two ways to enter: the first way is to subscribe to a free e-mail newsletter by an author (one that is sponsoring the contest). The other is a little more complicated. There’s a book out there, called “The Idea Factory: 1000 Story Ideas & Writing Prompts to Find your Next Bestseller”. The author, Ryan Lanz, is another author sponsoring the contest. The second way to enter is to look up Prompt #627 and send him an e-mail with the results. I looked at the prompt this morning (the e-book was only $3), and decided that not only did I love it, but that I also wanted to look at the other 999 prompts the book had to offer. Thus, setting my challenge for this year.

By the time 2017 ends, I want to use a 1000 prompts in writing exercises. I know it sounds a lot, but after looking through some of the other prompts, I decided it would be something fun to tackle.

So fingers crossed that I win the contest, and if not, then it’s back to my own self-production for now.

Anyways, that brings me to another topic I wanted to discuss: Kickstarter/GoFundMe. I hope to launch the Kickstarter before the month ends. I wanted to explain now what I hope to raise enough money for through the Kickstarter.

I need a professional editor/beta reader. I also need the money to trademark and copyright Keepers of Balance as a title name. Finally, I need, if I don’t win the contest, a professional graphic designer/artist to help me with the book cover. Though, for that last one, I’m rather iffy on. I know I can come up with something, even at the last moment, but I still want to make sure the money I’ve been given isn’t going to waste. So, if I end up not needing the graphic designer, I will use the money for important bills, such as rent and such.

My birthday is this month (the 23rd), so I want to try to do what I haven’t been able to  do: I want to try to do a Q&A. I’ve attempted to do one in the past, but I didn’t get a lot of questions, plus the loss of my editing program set me back quite a bit. I would love to try again for my birthday, but if it doesn’t work out, then I guess I’ll save it for another time.

I’m really excited for this year. Even if KoB is pandered at the start, I’ll still be happy knowing that I accomplished one of my lifelong dreams: publishing a book because I wanted to.

~Arrivederci!~

Author: CasSilber

Aspiring blogger, who also dreams of writing/illustrating/composing music for/publishing her own books (mainly light novels). Don't be afraid to chat--I don't bite!

1 thought on “First Post of 2017”

Leave a Reply

