Cold afternoon, huh?

Just got in from work. It’s been kind of a weird week (a lot of weird shit happened over the past couple of days), but I’m looking forward to my weekend.

Aaaaanyways, I started comparing prices for professional editors/proofreaders so I can figure out how much m0ney I need to raise. I also need a professional translator. Considering that I’ve decided to put all of Arc 1: Awakening into a single book, that’s a lot of pages, and a lot of words, meaning that my cost basically skyrocketed. However, I planned on sending the entire Arc to an editor anyways, so it was going to be pricey either way. I don’t have an estimate for the translator yet (Trust me, it’s needed), but I’m hoping I can get a quote from somewhere. So far, it’s looking like I’ll need around $6,000. Yikes. I’m not sure if I can raise the money in time, and I don’t really have a decent hook to draw people in to donate to my project (Scott Cawthon tried to fund Five Nights at Freddy’s with Kickstarter and raised a whopping total of $0), and I don’t feel comfortable publishing without an editor. Plus, even though I do the bulk of the editing myself, I would much rather have a fresh pair of eyes for the project.

Regardless, I plan on launching the Kickstarter on Feb. 1st, and I think I’m going to make the total goal around $7,000. That way, I have enough to cover the editor, the translator, and maybe have the spare cash to pay of bills/take time off work/do something nice for me and my husband/unexpected emergencies/etc.

I’ve started putting together a table of contents for Book 1: Awakening, as well as started figuring out what bonus content I actually want to include. I’ve also started thinking about the book/episode covers. In terms of the book covers, I have a vague idea as to what I want to do with them (and oddly enough, the statue serving as my inspiration is sitting right in front of me. Might post a picture of it later). As for the episode covers, I have ideas for episode #1-#4, buuut….that’s about it. I would love to hire an artist to not only help me with KoB’s illustrations and character concepts…but also to mentor me, and to help me bounce ideas around. I do have a couple of people I can turn to…but I haven’t been able to meet them physically/Skype them/etc yet.

I’ve also started Episode #9’s editing. After I edit that and Episode #10, I’m gonna start from the beginning one more time to give everything one last look, and to fine-tune my writing style (my narrative in particular).

To be honest, I’m not sure if I’m gonna do an all-nighter tonight. I’d love to, and I really want to, and I can clear off the dining room table to give myself some space…but I’m still not too sure what I want to do, yet. I really hope to get back to those in February.

With this current cold spell that we’re going through right now, I’m glad the house holds heat pretty well. Have an electric heater doesn’t hurt, either. I hope everybody stays warm, and I’ll see you all next time.

~Arrivederci~

Author: CasSilber

Aspiring blogger, who also dreams of writing/illustrating/composing music for/publishing her own books (mainly light novels). Don't be afraid to chat--I don't bite!

Leave a Reply

