How to Be Taken Seriously as a Writer

I wish my time and aspirations were taken more seriously by those around me. At times, I feel alone/unappreciated, especially when I request time for myself to write/try to stick to my schedule for writing and life in general. I’ve sacrificed a lot for my dream–no, my only PURPOSE in life, and everyone who has been around me KNOWS this…so why does it feel like it’s slowly becoming less and less worth it, as time goes by? Why does it feel like I’m doing something wrong?

A Writer's Path

person-918684_640

by Kate Colby

So writing is your creative calling, your life’s purpose, your ultimate joy. Congratulations! You’re part of (in my totally unbiased opinion) one of the best groups of people in the world. You know it, I know it — and yet, your friends and family don’t.

After all, what’s so special about being a writer? Literally billions of people on the planet write every day. It’s a basic life skill, one of the first we learn. And as a career? Psh! You might as well steal a cardboard box from behind your local grocery store and get comfy on the street.

View original post 655 more words

Author: CasSilber

Aspiring blogger, who also dreams of writing/illustrating/composing music for/publishing her own books (mainly light novels). Don't be afraid to chat--I don't bite!

Leave a Reply

