Not a Fool…The Mad Fool

Happy April! The weather up here is slowly getting warmer…but it’s bringing down heavy rains and gray skies. Not that I mind. “April showers bring May flowers”, after all. The first few days of the month is going by smoothly, so far.

Anyways, April Fool’s Day was Saturday. I played a couple of pranks (I’ll have to wait a while to see one of the results and one of them got me and my husband in hot water with his mother…). I wanted to try to pull a “prank” on you guys: was gonna post something dramatic. Something like “That does it! This is too hard! I QUIT!! or “Hey guys! Today, I’m gonna reveal what I really look like!” and then post a picture of something ridiculous/hilarious (like this glorious picture right here!!), but I decided my small(ish) two pranks were enough for the day.

Over the weekend, I finished editing Episode #1 (for the third time) and started on Episode #2. Having access to the Episodes on my phone has been helping things along tremendously. It’s still a little…buggy, when it comes to writing (not to mention I have never liked texting to begin with, so this is me still getting over an aversion), and it does take longer (can’t type as fast)…but it’s useful for reading, reviewing, minor edits, taking notes, and brainstorming: over 80% of the writing process. If I want to make major edits or if I actually have access to my PC, then I’ll forgo the phone and just use the PC. It’s also been helpful for keeping me focused, in a weird way.

When I write/draw, I need some background noise. At times, I’m very…fickle with what I choose to have on in the background. It’s a little hard for me to explain, but let me just say this, then maybe y’all understand: I hate working in silence. My brain gets bored easily. Ever since I hit middle school, I discovered my need to have music on while studying/drawing/writing. Hell, even when making music, sometimes, background noise/visuals will still help me. Coming from a person with possible mild-moderate ADD (it’s in my dad’s side of the family, so it just makes sense), this really helps me get on track. It only gets worse if it’s quiet and I’m not invested/interested in what I’m doing (as you can probably guess by now, school was very difficult for me). I need minor distractions, and when I get stressed, major distractions.

My phone has been great with that. If writing on the Surface, I’ll have YouTube on my phone, playing a video. Or I’ll have Pandora playing, or my own playlist on the memory card. Not to say I couldn’t do all of that on the Surface, but for whatever reason, the separate screens (one for background, one for working) seem to be helping me.

Wow, I got really off-topic there…sorry about that. I also realize that I really need to come up with better names for these posts. I’ve had this blog for 8 months now, and I still have no clue what to name these damn things (although, the title is a reference to one of my favorite video game characters of all time. Hint: with he as your companion, the open world will fear your might)

Anyways, with my current luck and pace, I should be done with Episode #2 sooner than I think…but I’ve also been looking into overhauling a good portion of the Episode anyways, so maybe not.

I don’t think I’ll be having an All-Nighter this week. This Thursday, I’d like to make plans to clean and unpack some more. Most days, I usually do the bulk of my editing before work–that’s about 20 minutes. I think one of my biggest downfalls is the lack of actual writing (though, to be fair, I do count research/world-building as writing, so that may be my fault), but I think that problem might right itself pretty soon.

I’ve also been starting to scratch the surface of the Salem Witch Trials–something that has inspired the third Bonus Episode of Arc 1. This one is supposed to be one of the longer ones. I need to edit the completed Bonus Episodes still, buuut….I’ve been thinking about posting them up here, just as my way of saying “thank you” for being with me thus far.

I’ve been toying the idea of doing casual movie reviews (if you could call them that). It’ll go like this: I’ll watch a movie, plug in the microphone, and ramble on about what I liked/didn’t like/found interesting/etc. Okay, maybe not ramble. I hope to give it some structure. But there are movies I really like (and dislike), and I always find it fun to share your opinion on the internet (even if you come out looking kinda like an ass!).

I’ve been looking at the design for this blog lately, and I’m seriously considering giving the entire look a serious overhaul. I also need to make custom art for it, too. Hmm….I’ll have to think on that…

Anyways, I’ve held you all here long enough. Hopefully I’ll have as much to talk about in Wednesday’s post!

~Arrivederci!!~

Author: CasSilber

Aspiring blogger, who also dreams of writing/illustrating/composing music for/publishing her own books (mainly light novels). Don't be afraid to chat--I don't bite!

Leave a Reply

