Taking things to Second Base

Reason for the title: I’m currently at a bar called “Second Base”. So far, I really like it. It’s small, but cozy. The bartender is nice, and they even have a pool table. Granted, I wish they had more than one, but most bars that I’ve been through only have one pool table.

The food here is delicious. I’m a sucker for mozzarella sticks (and fried cheese in general), and they have some pretty good ones. Soon, Niax and I are gonna try some of their pizza, and maybe a burger.

I honestly like bars. Not so much for the booze. When push comes to shove, I’d rather drink at home, anyways. No, I like them for the food, and atmosphere. Bar-hopping would be a hobby of mine, if I had the cash to go to a new bar every week. I find them relaxing, and very casual.

Anyways, enough about the bar. I wanna talk about what happened during my D&D campaign. Last time, we were sneaking into a bandit stronghold through the sewers, and we managed to get into the mansion where the bandits (who were terrorizing a local town) were hiding. They’re not very smart, though due to some bad luck, my character took a bad blow to the shoulder. The mansion is actually important to my character, but I’m not saying a damn thing until it’s been all played out.

I’ve started editing work on Episode #3 for KoB. Mostly reworking the beginning, for now. I’ve always had a hard time starting and ending a story in a way that leaves the reader wanting more. I lack a decent hook, for the beginning, and I’m not sure how well my endings and cliffhangers will do. I normally try to avoid cliffhanger, but I also try to foreshadow what’s to come. Honestly, if there was a seminar of sorts to help writers build a 3-act structure for their stories, I would pay a pretty penny to go to one of those. Even local writing classes would be great, but there aren’t a lot of those in my area…and I have to focus on bills and adulting, anyways.

I’m just hoping the weather in Michigan makes up its damn mind. Seriously, it was nice the other day, now it’s cold and rainy. Michigan’s bi-polar attitude to weather deserves a blog all on it’s own.

~Arrivederci!~

Author: CasSilber

Aspiring blogger, who also dreams of writing/illustrating/composing music for/publishing her own books (mainly light novels). Don't be afraid to chat--I don't bite!

Leave a Reply

