What’s in a Surname?

Happy Tuesday.

I hope you guys had a good Memorial Day (and Memorial Day Weekend). I’ve been feeling better since Saturday and Sunday, but still a little congested. Throat still feels a little raw, too. Yesterday, my husband grilled some burgers. They came out almost perfectly.

Not too much for me to say today. Still interchanging work between the third Episode and the third Bonus Episode, trying to spread the work between them evenly. I’ve also been thinking a lot about the Original Keepers of Balance, and how they met/got their powers/etc. For a long time, the Original Keepers of Light and Darkness had no surnames or last names. I’m horrible at coming up with fitting names at times. A lot of the time, I try to interject some meaning into their names. Other times, I just think the name sounds cool, and then I go from there. When working with foreign, fantasy names, I usually try translating a bunch of words that represent that character’s traits or roles, then try to find a fitting anagram. Or, I use a name generator, get a good list of names, and then try to look up the meaning of the names I picked, and try to pick my favorites from there.

Finally, I have found fitting surnames for the Originals that will do for the time being. Who knows? Maybe the names will be permanent. So from now on, when I’m talking about the Original Keepers of Balance, I will refer them to their surnames, to make things easier:

  • Friaggi: Original Keeper of Light
  • McGill: Original Keeper of Darkness

Again, this is subject to change. “Friaggi” is an anagram of the German word for “peace” (frieden) and the Italian word for “travel” (viaggi). McGill means “son of the foreigner”, deriving from the Gaelic word “gall” (foreigner).

Now that I have the whole surname debate out of the way, I can finally piece together a decent backstory for these two! Yes!

~Arrivederci!~

Author: CasSilber

Aspiring blogger, who also dreams of writing/illustrating/composing music for/publishing her own books (mainly light novels). Don't be afraid to chat--I don't bite!

Leave a Reply

