I call this the “Splice n’ Switch”

Happy Thursday, everyone. Gonna tell you guys now, this post is gonna be a short one–just a quick update on KoB Episode-changing process.

I did some location scouting for where the new Episode #3 (aka, the old Episode #2). It originally took place in California City, but I decided to move the location to a city that’s sitting on the harbor of the Pacific Ocean. I found that city much more scenic, and it actually used to be a Native American settlement, if I’m getting my information correct. I have yet to develop a proper “Leyline Map” for the Keepersverse, but if I did, there would be either a Leyline gathering point OR a really wide Leyline going through the city, mostly because of it’s location by the water. It’s also not too far away from the new Episode #2 location (somewhere in Oregon). Since then, I’ve been carefully splicing bits from the old Episode #2 to the new Episode #2, while editing them in the meantime. It’s a bit confusing when I try to explain it, so lemmie try explaining it like this: imagine you are a genetic scientist–a genetic engineer. You have two test subjects–two specimens. You’re taking specific strands from each and carefully inserting them into the other’s DNA code. If you’re a hacker/programmer, then the same analogy could be used with code. Hell, if anyone here watches Steven Universe (which you SHOULD), you could say that I’m approaching these Episodes the way that the Gem Mutants–or even the Cluster–were created: taking the gem shards from other Gems and splicing them together, forcing them to fuse. Except…how I’m doing it isn’t as creepy or brutal.

Of course, I have to tweak dialogue and pacing to reflect the changes I’ve been making, but that’s why I’ve been editing as I’ve been going along. Once both Episodes have been completed, I’ll have to read through them both and make some more edits before drifting back to Episode #4 and making some changes there.

Whoo. All this back and forth splicing and editing makes my head spin some days. Honestly, it’s daunting, but I feel like the first Arc (as well as Ian and Rach’s developing friendship) is a lot better paced. And one of the things I value the most in stories is the pacing. Sometimes, to achieve this, you have to add some Episodes, take away some Episodes, switch around some Episodes, and even merge some together.

….That doesn’t mean that it doesn’t drive me absolutely batty, though.

Oh, I almost forgot to mention one other thing: last night, after spending literally two hours thinking about it, I learned that I can’t name churches for shit. However, I have to give a nod to this helpful website for giving me some pointers. If you are creating a church for your own story and are having trouble naming it, this site offers some helpful advice for creating a unique (and maybe even memorable) church name: http://www.sharefaith.com/blog/2011/01/call-church-practices-naming-church/

~Arrivederci~

Author: CasSilber

Aspiring blogger, who also dreams of writing/illustrating/composing music for/publishing her own books (mainly light novels). Don't be afraid to chat--I don't bite!

Leave a Reply

